For the last few years I’ve held off my suicidal urges by reminding myself how death effects those around it, I wouldn’t hurt my friends and family like that while alive so what gives me the right to do it by dying? At least if I were to hurt them like that while alive I could take action to ease the suffering it would cause.

The thing with hearing the same moral argument over and over again is that it eventually becomes banal and meaningless. It’s now something I tell people to help them understand, and when I am gone perhaps they will realise that I put all I could into staying here for them.

I’m sorry, but I’m not strong enough to remain here indefinitely, even for them. There are a few prior commitments I must fulfil then I’ll quietly step out into the night and embrace the eternal darkness.

6 thoughts on “The Platitude of Life.

      1. I don’t think anyone intervene with your decision. You’ve thought about this for a very long time. When you’re ready you’ve got my support. Of course nobody wants you to but it’s all about what’s best for you

      2. The only way in which someone could intervene would be by finding a way to change my outlook on life, which they are welcome to attempt but as of yet I have been unable to do so.

Leave a Reply

